My kind of Breakfast

whiskey

Sorry about the absence, guys. Between midterms, Coachella, my 23rd birthday and various illnesses, I haven’t had time to even drink whiskey so blogging about it was pretty much out of the question.

I’m recovering from a pretty gnarly sinus infection right now so I’m going to share some photos and insights from the time Gabe and I went to have ice cream a few weeks back.

humphry

humphry

Located in the Mission, Humphry Slocombe is pretty well-known for their highly creative ice cream flavors, but the one that stands out (and keeps me running across town from the Richmond) would be have to be their bourbon and cornflake flavored “Secret Breakfast.”

The first time I had Secret Breakfast was some months back. A very good friend of mine took me there with the directions “Get Secret Breakfast. Don’t ask any questions.” I’m usually too defiant to comply with such blunt directions but for some reason I did and I have no regrets.

I told Gabe about it and being the alcoholic he is, we were standing in line at the shop within two days. Even around 8pm on a rather chilly day, the place the packed with a line running outside the door to the sidewalk.

humphry

humphry

I got a scoop of Secret Breakfast paired with a scoop of Tahitian Vanilla while Gabe coupled his scoop of Secret Breakfast with some super-exotic flavor that I can’t seem to remember right now. What’s important to note is that both of our choices were fantastic.

humphry

humphry

My friends and coworkers cringe when they think of a bourbon flavored ice cream but I think declaring Secret Breakfast my favorite ice cream of all time would probably be an understatement. The taste of bourbon is very faint but just enough to get the point across and the corn flakes are the perfect crunchy companion to sweet and bitter taste. In addition, Humphry’s ice creams are very light and creamy so its not like you’re eating a frozen block of milky whiskey and cereal. Actually, I don’t think I would complain too much about that either. I would say that the only downside is that it melts faster than I can physically eat it.

humphry

humphry

P.S. The whiskey they use is plain ol’ Jim Beam (we asked!)

Humphry Slocombe

2790 Harrison St
San Francisco, CA 94110

3 thoughts on “My kind of Breakfast

  1. I believe the other flavor i got was peanut butter and Marshmallow Fluff, which of course was tantalizing and delicious.

  2. Pingback: whiskeysoaked

Leave a Reply

